w w w . S o m a l i T a l k . c o m

Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) May Not Be Halal Any More...

Drs. A. Noor, M.Eng

Published: January 12, 2001


Your page is very informative and good luck.

I am interested on Halal Food information. I have an input for you on Monosodium glutamate (MSG) which belongs to halal group. MSG is widely used as food flavor in Indonesia.

However, an MSG plant just got a harsh warning with possibility to be closed down since it changed one ingredient in its production process, i.e. enzyme used in mollases fermenattion, since it is produced from porcine in order to cut production cost.

It is a hot issue now, and 4 managers of the plant (AJINOMOTO in Surabaya, East Java, Indonesia ) are detained by the police department for thorough questioning, etc. Hence, I suggest that MSG be put not as Halal, but put as doubtful. In other case, where porcine is not involved, it is halal. Hopefully, this info will be of use to you.


A. Noor
Jakarta, Indonesia

Note: We have updated halal and haram web to incorporate this new information.


Kulaabo bogga